Shortlist Announced: Mines and Money Asia Outstanding Achievement Awards

Considered to be Asia’s most prestigious mining investment awards and a highlight in the Asian mining calendar, the annual Mines and Money Outstanding Achievement Awards are where ‘the best of the best’ in the Asia Pacific region receive recognition for their achievements in the past year.

Nominated by industry peers and chosen by an esteemed panel of judges, these awards are designed to recognize excellence and outstanding achievement over a wide cross-section of the Asia Pacific mining and investment sector.

Sponsored by Argonaut, AER and the Canadian Chamber of Commerece in Hong Kong this year there are five awards recognising excellence in Asia-Pacific mining as well as a new award, North-American Mining Executive of the Year, in recognition of the importance of Canadian and TSX listed companies.

The 2018 Shortlisted Nominees are:

Asia Pacific Mining Exploration Company of the Year

  • Blackham Resources
  • Ceylon Graphite
  • CleanTeQ
  • New Century Resources
  • Novo Resources
  • SolGold

Asia Pacific Exploration Mining Executive of the Year 

  • Bharat Parashar, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Ceylon Graphite
  • Sam Riggall, Chief Executive Officer, CleanTeQ
  • Dr. Quinton Hennigh, Chairman & President, Novo Resources
  • Nick Mather, Chief Executive Officer, SolGold
  • John Prineas, Chief Executive Officer, St George Mining
  • Jim Askew, Chief Executive Officer, Syrah Resources 

Asia-Pacific Mining Deal of The Year

  • EMR Capital acquisition of OZ Minerals Golden Grove
  • Pilbara Minerals – Pilgangoora Lithium project.  100% production offtake from stage 1 and 50% from stage 2.
  • Rio Tinto sale of Coal and Allied to Yancoal for US$2.45bn
  • Shandong Gold Mining acquisition of Pingdu Jinxing
  • Sumitomo Corporation and Korea Resources agreement to acquire stakes in Ambatovy Minerals, S. A. and Dynatec Madagascar
  • IAMGOLD Corporation and Sumitomo Metal Mining JV at the Côté Gold Project 

Asia Pacific Mining Executive of the Year

  • Nick Clarke, Chief Executive Officer, Central Asia Minerals
  • Li Chaochun, Chief Executive Officer, China Moly
  • Jake Klein, Chief Executive Officer, Evolution Mining
  • Bill Beament, Chief Executive Officer, Northern Star Resources
  • Jean-Sébastien Jacques, Chief Executive Officer, Rio Tinto
  • Nick Mather, Chief Executive Officer, SolGold 

Asia-Pacific Mining Company of the Year

  • China Moly
  • Hindustan Zinc/Vedanta Resource
  • Glencore
  • MMG
  • Rio Tinto
  • Shandong Gold

North-America Mining Executive of the Year

  • Sean Boyd, CEO, Agnico Eagle
  • David Harquail, CEO, Franco Nevada
  • Steve Letwin, CEO, IAMGOLD
  • Anthony Makuch, CEO, Kirkland Lake Gold
  • Rob McEwen, CEO, McEwen Mining
  • Sean Roosen, CEO, Osisko Gold Royalties

“We had a record number of entries this year across all award categories and congratulate all of those companies and individuals who have made it on the shortlist for this year’s awards” said Mike Hill, Head of Commercial Development Asia for Mines and Money.

All registered delegates of Mines and Money Asia are invited to join us at the 11th annual Mines and Money Asia Outstanding Achievement Awards Reception on Wednesday 4 April 2018, taking place at Loft 22 where the winners in each of the respective categories will be announced.

Click here for more information or to register as a delegate for Mines and Money Asia.

More News