Create FREE account or log in

to receive MINING.COM digests

Canadian Mining Hall of Fame welcomes four new inductees for 2018

Since 1988, the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame has been recognizing and celebrating outstanding achievement in the Canadian mining industry. On January 11 the CMHF will be welcoming four new members to its prestige group at the 30th Annual Dinner and Induction ceremony. The new inductees are Ross Beaty, Bob Gannicott, Terry MacGibbon and Ed Thompson.

The four will join the current 177 hall of famers and the 2018 CMHF event, to be held at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, will reflect on their achievements in leadership, entrepreneurialism, and philanthropic work.

“The Canadian Mining Hall of Fame is proud to recognize these four outstanding individuals for their lasting contributions to the mining industry, both here in Canada and across the globe,” said CMHF Chair Bill Roscoe in an official press release.

Not only has each individual made considerable impact on the Canadian industry, but their passions have also positively impacted surrounding communities and ecological territories.

The 2018 CMHF Inductees:

Bob Gannicott (Photo by Angela Gzowski Photography, Image courtesy of Dominion Diamond Corporation Facebook Page)

Bob Gannicott

Robert Gannicott was both a pioneer in exploration and discovery of North West Territory mines, and a strong advocate for Indigenous peoples and NWT communities. Throughout his years as a visionary entrepreneur, he played a major role in discovering the Diavik mine, which is at the helm of Aber Resources, a 40% owner. Aber was later acquired by a diamond retailer and renamed the Harry Winston Diamond Corporation before the retail business was sold and renamed Dominion Diamond Corporation. When DDC acquired 80% interest in the Ekati mine, combined with the 40% of Diavik this became one of Canada’s largest independent diamond producers. Gannicott passed away in 2016 and his work and memory will be honoured at the CMHF dinner.

Ross Beaty (File Image)

Ross Beaty

A recent appointee to The Order of Canada, Ross Beaty is considered one of Canada’s most successful mining entrepreneurs, according to the official press release. With a background in geology he has built up over thirteen companies creating over $6 billion in shareholder value. His flagship company, Pan American Silver, is one of the biggest global silver producers. In addition, Beaty has paired his passion and success with giving back via environmental, civil society, and philanthropic support.

Terry MacGibbon (File Image)

Terry MacGibbon

Terry MacGibbon became known within the industry as an entrepreneur, innovator, and role model when he segued into mine development and company building. Applying experience from his 30 years with Inco, he built four considerable mining companies (FNX Mining, Torex Gold Resources, TMAC Resources and INV Metals), raised billions of dollars of capital, developed great relationships with industry stakeholders, and generated major employment and economic benefits.

Ed Thompson (Image courtesy of The Northern Miner)

Ed Thompson

One of the founding members of CMHF, Ed Thompson was also a leader in bringing the Prospectors and Developers of Canada (PDAC) global respect and recognition. According to the CMHF official press release, he has showed his diversity of skills by contributing to numerous aspects to the Canadian mining industry such as exploration, mine development, company building, and supporting industry causes and associations. In his career, Thompson contributed to the growth of Teck Resources and Lacana Mining (now part of Barrick Gold). He also made discoveries in Ontario’s “Ring of Fire” and developed an iron ore mine in Quebec that Cliffs Canada bought in 2011 for 4.9 billion dollars. In addition, Thompson has served on the boards of 50 junior companies.

Tickets for this dinner are now available for purchase:

For more information on the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, please visit: